Cape town and the game reserve

I arrived late Tuesday in cape town and had 3 days to explore. Wednesday I woke up and went for a walk, I found the ocean and explored tide pools. Within about 5 minutes I slipped and fell in…it was a wet 20 minute walk back to the hostel. I then went to the nelson mandela museum and went out to robben island. We had a guided tour of the island including the prison. It was quite amazing.

On Thursday me and a friend from the hostel went up table mountain. I was supposed to do an abseil, but the wind was too strong. We had a great hike around the top and a gorgeous view of the city off the back of the mountain. I wandered downtown, went to the market then my roommate izzy and i went out to mama Africa to try some traditional South African food for dinner. I ate a bit of her bobotie, which is a ground beef type thing with egg on it. I ordered a veggie dish though, it was a squash stuffed with a bunch of spinach and things. There was a live band as well which was very cool.

Friday was my wine tour day. We visited 4 different vineyards, all of which were so unique with very interesting histories. South Africans sure know how to make wine! A very hungover christina left he next morning for the bus ride to the garden route game lodge. I pretty much slept all the way there then I got to this beautiful nature reserve, made a sanwhich and had a nap. Sooo hungover. But once i woke up we had a braai, fed the elephants and played with baby cheetahs!!!! There are 3 of us volunteers, a family and a couple employees who live here as well.

I leave for the nature college this afternoon but will be back here at the garden route game lodge in 2 weeks. At the nature college I will do a field guiding course where I learn plants, animals, weapon handling, snake handling, darting, and a ton of other cool stuff. My practicum is then guiding tours here at the garden route game lodge.

This morning we had a tour of the reserve. We saw all kinds of animals; cheetahs, springbok, snakes, antelope, zebras, elephants… It’s been an amazing time so far. Time to do homework, pack, and find out how many bottles of wine I can take back to Canada…

image

The ocean

image

A little sea star I found in a tide pool

image

Anemone!!! I love the ocean.

image

The view of table mountain from the boat ride to robben island

image

The penguins of robben island

image

The prison

image

Table mountain. It was a rainy day with most of the view looking like this.

image

After 2 hours of hiking we found a clear area where we could see the city

image

The first vineyard, fairview. I fell in love with their pinotage.

image

Vrede en lust, where the wine is great, the girls are gorgeous and the chocolate is amazing. They co own lindt chocolate.

image

Solms delta, my personal favourite. With very unique wines and a tasting in the museum. We also had an amazing lunch here in their glass floored resteraunt.

image

Solms delta outside

image

Villiera, they have an amazing selection of champagne here.

image

The tented camp we stay in at the garden route game lodge. Gorgeous view, we are in the middle of the reserve.

image

At a braai with a baby cheetah, I love Africa! These cheetahs will be around humans their whole lives. They plan to use them for commercial purposes including carrying rings down the aisle at weddings.

image

A wilder cheetah, he just had surgery after breaking his leg.

image

Baby giraffe, he is 1 month old.

image

Out on the reserve

image

This is the actual lodge, where the tourists stay

4 thoughts on “Cape town and the game reserve

  1. WOW very nice Christina……We look forward to your next entry…..Be safe those kitties do get bigger

Leave a Reply

