Costa Rica in 3 weeks: Part 3: The Yoga Farm

This is by far the farthest into my inner hippy that I have gone. I took a school bus to the end of a dirt road and then used my broken Spanish to talk someone into letting me and two other travelers hop in the back of his pick up to drive us the last half hour. I then hiked up the hill from hell with my pack (which had all of my climbing gear as well as traveling things and was very very heavy) and arrived at this beautiful series of small buildings tucked away in the forest.

The main building had a yoga studio on the top floor and dorms on the bottom. The yoga studio, open and surrounded by jungle, was the perfect place to get back into my practice. One day while doing yoga we saw a chestnut billed tucan, just sitting watching us from a nearby branch.

The kitchen had freshly prepared vegetarian food prepared by the volunteers each day, as well as a lovely kombucha station. I’m actually in love with this place. There were so many birds, most of which I did not identify! We had one 90 minute yoga class each day, and access to the studio all day long. I walked down the the beach at least twice each day to go for a surf or a swim or use the internet at Roberto’s where his wife Free (spelling?) would make the worlds most amazing smoothies. We would usually walk down to watch the sunset, it never gets old. The only way to really appreciate this place is to go there. It was my favourite part of my 3 week travels. But some pictures will give you a general idea!

 

The walk up the hill

The walk up the hill

The beach

The beach

Sunsets

Sunsets

Learning my insects

Learning my insects

This was our studio/bedroom. Yoga will never be the same

This was our studio/bedroom. Yoga will never be the same

Facepainting with one of the owners of The Yoga Farm and her wonderful children

Facepainting with one of the owners of The Yoga Farm and her wonderful children

We even got some Acro in!

We even got some Acro in!

The children in this community were your best friends as soon as they met you and were so high energy!

The children in this community were your best friends as soon as they met you and were so high energy!

Acro on the beach

Acro on the beach

 

Leave a Reply

